browse engage about us donate
last name title topic
cart 0 items
sign in
browse books
browse authors
browse broadsides
download catalog
Fungus Skull Eye Wing: selected poems of Alfonso D'Aquino
Forrest Gander
$17.00 paperback
9781556594472
Add to cart
Fungus Skull Eye Wing: selected poems of Alfonso D'Aquino
Bilingual edition
Forrest Gander

Impeccably translated from Spanish by the award-winning poet Forrest Gander, fungus skull eye wing is a book of liquid perspective and butoh-like gestures. Shifting along the margins of rational perception, D'Aquino's poetry "draws us into dialogue with the world." His language morphs into his observations: speech comes alive while the living world becomes speech in what Richard Howard calls "the most vivid and satisfying new poetry from Mexico that I have ever encountered."

D'Aquino has, since childhood, writes Gander in his introduction, been "fascinated by the nonhuman." Presented bilingually, fungus skull eye wing is "not 'nature poetry' as topic and commentary, but poetry as exploration (both formal and thematic) of the relationships between nature and culture, body and feeling, language and perception."

facebook email this book to a friend
post your own comments
   
Post a review for Fungus Skull Eye Wing: selected poems of Alfonso D'Aquino

This feature requires that you first log in (or create an account if you do not already have one).
Click here to login or create an account. You will be returned here automatically.

reviews
For Fungus Skull Eye Wing: selected poems of Alfonso D'Aquino, Forrest Gander

“This is the first bilingual collection by the Mexican master of nature poems, D’Aquino…A necessary read for fans of Hart Crane, Jack Spicer, and Latin American poetry in translation.”—Booklist

Privacy & Security   Conditions of Use   Help   Author Login   Contact Us   877.501.1393    © 2017 Copper Canyon Press    Website by Golden Lasso