Kayleb Rae Candrilli

Ryan Collerd, courtesy of The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage

Kayleb Rae Candrilli is a 2019 Whiting Award Winner in poetry and the author of Water I Won’t Touch (Copper Canyon Press, 2021), All the Gay Saints (Saturnalia, 2020), and What Runs Over (YesYes Books, 2017). Candrilli was a 2017 finalist for the Lambda Literary Award in transgender poetry and a 2017 finalist for the American Book Fest’s Best Book Award in LGBTQ Non-Fiction. They have received fellowships from Lambda Literary and are published or forthcoming in Poetry, The American Poetry Review, American Poets, TriQuarterly, Boston Review and many others. They live in Philadelphia with their partner.


Books by this author

Awards and Honors

Frontier Magazine Open Prize, 2021

National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Literature, 2021

Whiting Award, 2019

Finalist, Lambda Literary Award, 2017

Finalist, American Book Fest Best Book Award in LGBTQ Non-Fiction, 2017

Lambda Literary Fellowship, 2017

Tom Howard/Margaret Reid Poetry Contest Winner, 2020