Maurice Manning

Steve Cody

Maurice Manning’s first book, Lawrence Booth’s Book of Visions, was selected by W.S. Merwin for the Yale Series of Younger Poets and published in 2001. Since then, Manning has published five other collections, including The Common Man, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in 2011, and One Man’s Dark. Railsplitter is his seventh collection. Manning has held fellowships at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and the Hawthornden International Retreat for Writers in Scotland. A former Guggenheim fellow, Manning teaches at Transylvania University in Lexington, Kentucky and for the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College. He is also a regular member of the faculty for the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. He is a member of Kentucky Writers and Artists for Reforestation and is vice chancellor of the Fellowship of Southern Writers. His poems and essays have appeared in various magazines and journals, including TIME, Garden & Gun, The Sewanee Review, Commonweal, Plume, Virginia Quarterly Review, Five Points, and The New Yorker. Manning lives with his family on a small farm in Kentucky.

Awards and Honors

Writing Fellowship, The Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MA

Yale Series of Younger Poets

Writing Fellowship, The Hawthornden International Retreat for Writers, Scotland

Hanes Award for Poetry, The Fellowship of Southern Writers

Lee Smith Literary Award, Lincoln Memorial University

Finalist, Pulitzer Prize

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship

Al Smith Writing Fellowship, The Kentucky Arts Council