Philip Metres

Heidi M. Rolf

Philip Metres is the author of ten books, including Shrapnel Maps (Copper Canyon 2020). His other works include The Sound of Listening (essays), Pictures at an Exhibition (poems), the translation I Burned at the Feast: Selected Poems of Arseny Tarkovsky, and Sand Opera. His work has garnered fellowships from the Lannan Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as six Ohio Arts Council grants, the Hunt Prize, the Adrienne Rich Award, two Arab American Book Awards, the Watson Fellowship, the Lyric Poetry Award, the Alice James Award, the Creative Workforce Fellowship, and the Cleveland Arts Prize. He is professor of English and director of the Peace, Justice, and Human Rights program at John Carroll University.

Awards and Honors

Lannan Literary Fellowship

Two National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowships

Six Ohio Arts Council Grants

George W. Hunt, S.J. Prize

Beloit Poetry Journal’s Adrienne Rich Award

Two Arab American Book Awards

Thomas J. Watson Fellowship

Lyric Poetry Award, Poetry Society of America

Alice James Award (formerly the Beatrice Hawley Award)

Creative Workforce Fellowship

Cleveland Arts Prize

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, 2020