Jericho Brown

Brian Cornelius

Jericho Brown is a Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, and the National Endowment for the Arts, and he is the winner of a Whiting Award. Brown’s first book, Please (New Issues, 2008), won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament (Copper Canyon Press, 2014), won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. His third collection is The Tradition (Copper Canyon Press, 2019)—winner of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award. His poems have appeared in Bennington Review, BuzzFeed, Fence, jubilat, The New Republic, The New York Times, The New Yorker, The Paris Review, TIME, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry. He is an associate professor and the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University.

Awards and Honors

Pulitzer Prize in Poetry, 2020

Whiting Writers Award

American Book Award

National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship

Radcliffe Institute at Harvard University Fellowship

Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference Fellowship

Krakow Poetry Seminar Fellowship

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship

Lambda Literary Trustee Award, 2020

PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award, 2020

Georgia Writers Hall of Fame

American Academy of Arts & Sciences Member