Kathleen Peirce

Kathleen Peirce is the author of Vault: A Poem (New Michigan Press, 2017), The Ardors (Ausable/Copper Canyon, 2004), The Oval Hour (University of Iowa Press, 1999), winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize, Divided Touch, Divided Color (The Windhover Press, 1995), and Mercy (University of Pittsburgh Press, 1991). She has received AWP’s Donald Hall Prize, The William Carlos Williams Award, and a Whiting Award, and her books have been finalists for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Four Quartets Prize. She has received fellowships from the National Foundation for the Arts and The Guggenheim Foundation. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop in 1988, she has been teaching poetry in the MFA program at Texas State University since 1993.


Books by this author


Donald Hall Prize for Poetry, Association of Writers and Writing Programs

Iowa Poetry  Prize

William Carlos Williams Award, Poetry Society of America

Whiting Award

Finalist, Lost Angeles Times Book Prize

Finalist, Four Quartets Prize

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship

National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship