Lisa Olstein

David Goodrich

Lisa Olstein is the author of four poetry collections, Lost Alphabet, Little Stranger, Late Empire, and Radio Crackling, Radio Gone, and a book-length lyric essay, Pain Studies. She is also the lyricist for the rock band Cold Satellite, a collaboration with the singer-songwriter Jeffrey Foucault. Olstein’s honors include a Lannan Residency, Pushcart Prize, Hayden Carruth Award, Essay Press Chapbook Prize, and fellowships from the Sustainable Arts Foundation, Massachusetts Cultural Council, and Centrum. She co-founded the Juniper Initiative and for ten years directed the Juniper Summer Writing Institute at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Currently, she is a member of the poetry faculty at the University of Texas at Austin where she teaches in the Michener Center for Writers and New Writers Project MFA programs.

Awards and Honors

Pushcart Prize

Hayden Carruth Award for New and Emerging Poets

Massachusetts Cultural Counsel Artist Fellowship

Centrum Fellowship

Library Journal Best Book

Lannan Residency Fellowship

Essay Press Chapbook Contest Winner

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, 2020