browse engage about us donate
last name title topic
cart 0 items
sign in
browse books
browse authors
browse broadsides
download catalog
W.S. Merwin

W.S. Merwin was born in New York City in 1927 and was United States Poet Laureate in 2010. He graduated from Princeton University in 1948, where he studied with John Berryman and R.P. Blackmur. From 1949 to 1951 he worked as a tutor in France, Mallorca, and Portugal; for several years afterward he made the greater part of his living by translating from French, Spanish, Latin, and Portuguese. His first book of poetry, A Mask for Janus (1952) was selected by W.H. Auden for the Yale Younger Poets Prize.

Since then, Merwin has authored dozens of books of poetry and prose. His work embodies a bold commitment to experimentation and transformation rooted in the moral necessity of bearing witness, and is influenced by his profoundly environmentalist, pacifist, and anti–imperialist beliefs. He has won many awards, as well as fellowships from the Rockefeller and the Guggenheim Foundations and the National Endowment for the Arts. W.S. Merwin has lived in Hawaii since 1976. 

Merwin's most recent books include The Essential W.S. Merwin (2017), Garden Time (2016), The Moon Before Morning (2014), and The Shadow of Sirius (2008). For a complete list of titles Copper Canyon has published, see below.


United States Poet Laureate

Pulitzer Prize for The Shadow of Sirius

National Book Award for Migration

Bobbitt Poetry Prize for Present Company

Tanning Prize for mastery in the art of poetry

Bollingen Award

Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize

Privacy & Security   Conditions of Use   Help   Author Login   Contact Us   877.501.1393    © 2019 Copper Canyon Press    Website by Golden Lasso